Call Us: (847) 686-2233 - Email:

2018 Award and Scholarship Recipients   


ACS Quality of Life Award
The Honorable Joseph R. Biden, Jr.
Biden Cancer Institute

Sponsored by American Cancer Society

Established and sponsored by the American Cancer Society, this prestigious award honors individuals whose contributions through education, direct service, publications and presentations reflect a commitment to quality of life for all cancer survivors.  


Oncology Social Worker of the Year Award
Mary Lynn Hemphill

Sponsored by Cancer Support Community

This award recognizes an exceptional member of AOSW who, in the day-to-day delivery of compassionate service, is a model for the profession. The award is sponsored by the Cancer Support Community and through the generous donations of supporters, including AOSW members.


Leadership in Oncology Social Work Award
Wendy Walters

Sponsored by the American Cancer Society

Sponsored by the American Cancer Society, this award recognizes an exceptional member of AOSW who has significantly contributed to the field of oncology social work and demonstrated leadership through administration, education, clinical practice or research. 


LLS Hematology-Oncology Social Worker of the Year Award
Amanda Budai

Sponsored by the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society

The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society is pleased to support this award. The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society recognizes the work and importance of social workers in the lives and treatment of patients with a blood cancer and their loved ones. This award, given annually, recognizes a hematology-oncology social worker. The award comes with a continuing education stipend that covers conference registration and membership fees for non-members.


Palliative Care and End-of-Life Scholarship
Eva Morse

Established in 2006 in memory of longstanding AOSW member and leader in palliative and end-of-life care, Betty Vargo, this scholarship is given in support of an AOSW member seeking a master's degree in social work and with a demonstrated interest in end-of-life care.


Naomi Stearns Conference Scholarship
Philip Odiyo

Established to honor the first AOSW President, Naomi Stearns, this scholarship defrays the cost of conference attendance for a member who has demonstrated commitment to the profession. It is supported by donations to the Naomi Stearns Scholarship Fund.


2018 Conference Scholarship Recipients

Lisa Barnes
Deborah Carey
Elizabeth Flamm
Teri Freeman
Brittany Moore
Colleen O’Connor
Jill Randall
Carolyn Ruggles

View 2003 - 2017 Award and Scholarship Recipients